P.O. Box 5575, Santa Barbara, CA 93150 info@pasfsb.org (805) 898-0941


(Santa Barbara, CA., May 2, 2019) The Performing Arts Scholarship Foundation (PASF) annual competition was held for the first time at the Music Academy of the West on Sunday, April 28.  Emceed by PASF Board President Deborah Bertling, seven outstanding musicians and vocal artists were awarded scholarships for use in furthering their musical performance careers. The move to the Music Academy affords the Foundation greater visibility in the arts community and attracted a larger audience for the event.

First Place Junior Instrumental Division (a new PASF category for younger musicians): Receiving a $3000 scholarship was violinist Sofia Malvinni. Sofia is a student at LaCumbre Junior High and studies with Valerie Malvinni.

Runners up were Vincent Lertchareonyong and Noelle Hadsall. Vincent is a pianist who attends San Marcos HS. His teacher is Dr. Charles Asche at UCSB. Noelle, also a pianist, attends Mountain View Elementary School and her teacher is Lana Bodnar. Vincent and Noelle each received a $1500 award.

First Place Adult Instrumental Division: Recipient of a $6,000 award was cellist Katrina Agate who is working on her Bachelor’s Degree at UCSB and studying with Jennifer Kloetzel.

Runner up in this division was Connor Rowe, a trombonist who attends Colburn School Conservatory of Music in LA. His teacher is Mark Lawrence. Connor received a $3,000 cash award.

Vocal Division: Runner-up Awards of $3000 each were presented to sopranos Litha Ashforth and Christy Lee Peterson. Litha, who studied Voice Performance at Oklahoma City University, will be attending the New England Conservatory in the Fall of 2019. Her teacher in Santa Barbara is Dauri Kennedy. Christy is pursuing a Master of Music Degree at UCSB. Her teacher is Linda DiFiori.

Honorable Mention winners also received Encouragement Awards to further their musical training and careers. Judging the competition this year were John Ballerino, Paul Berkowitz, Ani Aznavoorian, Carol Ann Manzi and David Potter.

PASF Adds Marketing Executive to Board of Directors

The Board of Directors approved the nomination of local advertising executive Noel Lucky to its board at its June 30 meeting. An accomplished marketing professional and President of The Lucky Group, Inc. Ms. Lucky has counseled clients on brand development and media placement since 2007. Previously she served as Account Director for Gold Digest Brands. She is a graduate of the USC School of Journalism with an emphasis in Public Relations and Media Marketing.

PASF President Deborah Bertling commented that “We are pleased to have Nicole join our Board as she brings a fresh perspective to PASF’s commitment to strengthening our influence and image in this community.”

Since its inception in 1982 by the late Mrs. Lincoln Dellar, the foundation has been providing vocal and instrumental music students with financial assistance through an annual awards competition held in April. Competition guidelines may be found on the website.

Noel Lucky

Announcing the 2018 PSAF Scholarship Winners


The Performing Arts Scholarship Foundation (PASF) held its annual competition on Sunday, April 29, 2018 at the Fess Parker Doubletree Resort (newly acquired by the Hilton corporation), emceed by PASF Board President Deborah Bertling. Eleven outstanding musicians and vocal artists competed for scholarships.

The 2018 PSAF Scholarship Winners. Click on link to see photos.

PASF Winners

In the instrumental category, prize winners were: First Prize, Timothy Beccue (cello)  Second Prize, Sofia Malvinni (violin); Third Prize, Ilana Shapiro (flute); Fourth Prize, Josiah Frias (guitar).

Vocal competition winners were: First Prize, Kelly Newberry (mezzo-soprano); Second Prize, Naomi Merer (soprano); Third Prize, Tyler Reece (baritone).

For information on the 2019 PASF competition go to the How To Apply page on this website.

Important dates to remember are:  Deadline for applying – March 1, 2019; Auditions for the competition – Friday/Saturday, April 5/6 (time TBA); and the competition itself, will be April  28, 2019. 

2017 Winners and 2018 PASF Info

The Performing Arts Scholarship Foundation (PASF) is dedicated to assisting young artists a they continue their musical studies. Each year PASF offers scholarships to deserving applicants who must submit an application prior to being selected to audition and then participate in a competition with their peers. The competition is open to Santa Barbara residents or those studying with a Santa Barbara County music teacher. Some of our past winners are now doing well in the performing arts all around the world, and we are proud to have had a part in their success.

Meet our 2017 PASF Scholarship winners:

Left to right: Leslie Cain, Fourth Place – Instrumental (piano); Lalia Mangione, Second Place – Instrumental (violin); Erik Fauss, First Place – Instrumental (viola); Timothy Beccue, Third Place – Instrumental (cello); Naomi Merer, Second Place – Vocal; Tyler Reece, Third Place – Vocal; Joanna Lynn-Jacobs, Fourth Place -Vocal; and Byron Mayes, First Place, Vocal.

Important dates to note for the 2018 PASF Scholarship Competition: 

    • Deadline for Applications – Friday, March 2, 2018
    • Auditions – April TBA
  • Competition – April 29, 2018 at the Fess Parker Doubletree, Santa Barbara